Hohe Tauern National Park

In Bruck Fusch, nestling in the National Park, the highest summits are waiting for you, so too are the loveliest waterfalls, the mightiest glaciers, the clearest lakes and streams, the most majestic animals in the Alpine area. It is all of this that makes the Hohe Tauern National Park what is is – a paradise on earth. The unspoilt natural surroundings in the core area along with the cultural landscape provided by the Alpine and mountain pastures - shaped by people - provide a wonderful base for an almost unbelievable wealth of species in the heart of the Alps. The Hohe Tauern National Park is without a doubt one of the most superb high mountain landscapes in the high mountains.

Experience National Park

Visit the most impressive National Park in the world and enjoy what often seems like a seemingly endless sea of summits. Did you know that the park has more than 300 mountain summits that go beyond 3000 metres, providing a panorama that is beyond compare? The Hohe Tauern National Park has a world full of surprises in store for you. Out on tours with National Park Rangers and in the visitor centres you will be amazed. Interactive visitor and educational features (themed routes, exhibits, educational buildings etc.), make a visit to the conservation area not just an adventure, but an educational experience too. Immerse yourself in an endless and majestic realm of glaciers - a true paradise for those of you who have an interest in nature and keen hikers

Details and Facts

  • Spanning 1856 km² it is the largest conservation area in the Alps and the biggest National Park in Central Europe
  • The conservation area spans three federal states: Salzburg, Tirol and Carinthia
  • The Salzburg section of this state-spanning National Park covers 805 km², which is 80,500 hectares
  • The east-west stretch spans some 100 km, while the north-south stretch spans some 40 km
  • 266 three-thousand metre mountains, a 130 km² glacier area
  • 550 lakes and 279 streams create a kingdom of water
  • In 1967 Krimml Waterfalls were awarded the European Diploma in conservation
  • Along with the original natural landscape in the core zone, the outer zone has retained a cultural landscape spanning centuries
  • All the significant Alpine eco systems are extensive and in an unspoilt state. Valleys formed in the Ice Age with impressive valley heads, mighty alluvial and talus cones, Alpine grass and shrub heather, forests of larch, spruce and Swiss pine, along with unspoilt glacial streams characterise the landscape in the National Park
  • The Hohe Tauern window is one of the world's most impressive tectonic features
  • The golden eagle, bearded culture, European griffon, marmot, chamois, ibex and many others are native to this area
  • More than a third of all the plant species and more than half of all the amphibians, reptiles, birds and mammals that are in Austria can be found in the Hohe Tauern National Park
  • Over 220 different minerals – from mountain crystal to emeralds – feature among the crystal treasures of the Hohe Tauern
  • Anyone who hikes from the valley area in the Hohe Tauern National Park to the highest summits, crosses altitudinal belts that feature all the climatic zones from Central Europe to the Arctic

More information

Hohe Tauern National Park holiday region

The Hohe Tauern National Park holiday region spans the Krimml waterfalls, which incidentally, is the highest in Europe, right into Gasteinertal with its healing spring waters. The most exciting excursion destinations in the country, a well-tended natural and cultural landscape and the highest summits in Austria are located here. Experience the National Park in the National Park Centre, or head right into this impressive landscape direct via cable cars or on the excursion routes. Bruck and Fusch are located right in the centre of this region and the Grossglockner High Alpine Road takes you direct to the foot of the Grossglockner. 

Hohe Tauern Blicke

National Park Centre

The Hohe Tauern National Park which has the highest summits in Austria and its inhabitants such as ibex, chamois and the snow vole seem within touching distance in the National Park Centre in Mittersill. Ten stations in the 1800 m² adventure realm are there waiting to be explored.

The National Park Centre in the Hohe Tauern National Park holiday region is open daily from 10:00 to 17:00.

Nationalpark Hohe Tauern

In Bruck Fusch, mitten im Nationalpark gelegen, erwarten Sie ie höchsten Gipfel, die schönsten Wasserfälle, der mächtigste Gletscher, die klarsten Seen und Bäche, die majestätischsten Tiere des Alpenraums: Das alles macht den Nationalpark Hohe Tauern zu dem was er ist – ein Paradies auf Erden. Die unberührte Natur in der Kernzone sowie die von Menschenhand geprägte Kulturlandschaft der Almen und Bergwiesen sind ein guter Boden für den fast unglaublichen Artenreichtum im Herzen der Alpen. Der Nationalpark Hohe Tauern zählt zweifellos zu den großartigsten Hochgebirgslandschaften weltweit.

Nationalpark erleben

Besuchen Sie einen der beeindruckendsten Nationalparks weltweit und genießen Sie das oft unendlich scheinende Gipfelmeer. Wussten Sie, dass der Park mehr als 300 Berggipfel über 3.000 Meter mit einem unvergleichbaren Panorama beheimatet? Der Nationalpark Hohe Tauern hält für Sie eine Welt voller Überraschungen bereit. Bei Touren mit den Nationalpark Rangern und in den Besucherzentren lernen Sie das Staunen. Interaktive Besucher- und Bildungseinrichtungen (Themenwege, Ausstellungen, Bildungshäuser etc.), machen den Besuch im Schutzgebiet nicht nur zu einem Abenteuer, sondern auch zu einem lehrreichen Erlebnis. Tauchen Sie ein in die unendliche und majestätische Welt der Gletscher - ein wahres Paradies für naturbegeisterte Menschen und leidenschaftliche Wanderer

Daten und Fakten

  • Mit 1.856 km² handelt es sich um das größte Schutzgebiet der Alpen und den größten Nationalparks Mitteleuropas
  • Das Schutzgebiet erstreckt sich über die drei Bundesländer Salzburg, Tirol und Kärnten
  • Der Salzburger Anteil am länderübergreifenden Nationalpark beträgt 805 km², das sind 80.500 Hektar
  • Die Ost-West-Erstreckung beträgt 100 km, die Nord- Süd-Erstreckung beträgt 40 km
  • 266 Dreitausender, rund 130 km² Gletscher
  • 550 Seen und 279 Bäche bilden den Wasserreichtum
  • Die Krimmler Wasserfälle wurden bereits 1967 mit dem Europadiplom für Naturschutz ausgezeichnet
  • Neben der ursprünglichen Naturlandschaft in der Kernzone wird in der Außenzone eine über Jahrhunderte gepflegte Kulturlandschaft erhalten
  • Alle bedeutenden alpinen Ökosysteme sind hier großflächig und ungestört vertreten Eiszeitlich geformte Täler mit imposanten Talschlüssen, mächtigen Schwemm- und Murenkegeln, alpinen Grasund Strauchheiden, Wäldern mit Lärchen, Fichten und Zirben sowie unberührten Gletscherbächen, prägen das Landschaftsbild des Nationalparks
  • Das Tauernfenster zählt zu den weltweit eindrucksvollsten tektonischen Besonderheiten
  • Steinadler, Bartgeier, Gänsegeier, Murmeltier, Gämse, Steinbock u.v.m. sind hier heimisch
  • Mehr als ein Drittel aller Pflanzenarten sowie mehr als die Hälfte aller Amphibien, Reptilien, Vögel und Säugetiere, die in Österreich vorkommen, sind im Nationalpark Hohe Tauern zu finden
  • Über 220 verschiedene Mineralien – vom Bergkristall zu den Smaragden – bilden den Kristallschatz der Hohen Tauern
  • Wer im Nationalpark Hohe Tauern von den Tallagen zu den höchsten Gipfel wandert, durchquert Höhenstufen, die allen Klimazonen von Mitteleuropa bis in die Arktis entsprechen

Mehr Informationen

Ferienregion Nationalpark Hohe Tauern

Die Ferienregion Nationalpark Hohe Tauern erstreckt sich von den Krimmler Wasserfällen, übrigens den höchsten Europas bis ins Gasteinertal mit seinen Heilquellen. Die spannendsten Ausflugsziele des Landes, eine gepflegte Natur- und Kulturlandschaft und die höchsten Gipfel Österreichs befinden sich hier. Erleben Sie den Nationalpark im Nationalparkzentrum, oder fahren Sie direkt mit Bergbahnen oder auf Ausflugsstrassen in diese imposante Landschaft. Bruck und Fusch befinden sich genau im Zentrum dieser Region und die Großglockner Hochalpenstrasse führt Sie direkt zum Fuße des Großglockners. 

Nationalparkzentrum

Der Nationalpark Hohe Tauern mit den höchsten Gipfeln Österreichs und seinen Bewohnern wie Steinböcken, Gämsen oder Schneemäusen scheint im Nationalparkzentrum in Mittersill zum Greifen nahe. Zehn Stationen warten in der 1.800 m² großen Erlebniswelt darauf, erkundet zu werden.

 

Das Nationalparkzentrum der Ferienregion Nationalpark Hohe Tauern hat täglich von 10:00 bis 17:00 Uhr für Sie geöffnet.